WCAG 2.0 Guide

Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 defines how to make Web content more accessible to people with disabilities.
  • Accessibility involves a wide range of disabilities, including visual, auditory, physical, speech, cognitive, language, learning, and neurological disabilities.
  • They are not able to address the needs of people with all types, degrees, and combinations of disability.
  • These guidelines also make Web content more usable by older individuals with changing abilities due to aging and often improve usability for users in general.
  • WCAG 2.0 creates the foundation for a new level of standardization of web accessibility around the world. Its practical and well documented guidelines will allow web participants in many countries to evolve from a disparate set of practices to a unified approach to web accessibility for all.

WCAG is primarily intended for:

  • Web content developers (page authors, site designers, etc.)
  • Web authoring tool developers
  • Web accessibility evaluation tool developers
  • Others who want or need a standard for web accessibility
  • Cooperatively developed international standard
  • Applies to more advanced technologies
  • Clearer criteria
  • Flexible, adaptable
  • Practical implementation examples and info
Last modified: Thursday, 12 December 2013, 2:36 PM